Sidebar Wonders

May 1, 2008 at 2:58 pm | Posted in Blogs, Web Apps | 1 Comment

Sometimes I’m a little slow. When I set up my blog last summer, I went through all the features in the WordPress Admin section. I was careful to choose a theme i liked that had a custom header (banner) option. I noticed under Design, Widgets, that there were a bunch of “available” widgets for stuff like Search and Categories I could add, but already had them with the chosen theme. Didn’t see the point. What i missed was the benefit of CSS, the separation of style from structure.

Turns out that as soon as you Add a widget, the existing themes sidebar disappears and your chosen new Widgets replace them. Complete with customization options. The Style matches but the sequence and features are changed as you choose.

So now I have a greeting, Latest posts, and categories and archives are changed to space saving pick lists. I created a customized Admin (Meta) section using a Text box, added an image with credit and license, then put in the Feedburner subscription tool – complete with email subscription.

Still love the Pool Themes tabbed pages and search box in the menu bar. Hope you like the updates.

David

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for the comments on my site : ) I will look through them carefully and see what useful windows software is there and post them 😀 You are added to my blogroll too!!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.